You have added a new link to your collection You have deleted a link from your collection
    • 28 January 2016

      New Museum in Riga

      Henning Larsen is among the seven international architectural practices shortlisted to design the building of the new museum of contemporary arts in the centre of Riga, Latvia. The new museum building will become a new landmark in the Baltic States.

    •  The €30 million (US$32.6m) project for the Latvian Museum of Contemporary Art (LMoCA) is to become a cultural and arts centre of interregional significance.

      “This new museum is a major initiative for Latvia and will showcase the country’s culture and artistic flair. Creating a museum, which can compete with others around the world and establish a distinctive presence on the regional cultural map, is a specialized challenge, so in the competition we have sought to concentrate on international designers who are experienced in this field”, says Romans Surnačovs, Chair of the Latvian Museum of Contemporary Art Foundation.

      25 international architectural practices were invited to submit their credentials for this initiative. The seven shortlisted practices were chosen on the grounds of their skills, talent and ability as shown in past projects.

      “Knowledge and experience of contemporary art display was important but so was cultural and civic placemaking: a fascinating element of the project is trying to make a new place in this part of Riga. Additionally, understanding the realities of designing public and cultural buildings along with awareness and experience of designing for different climates and sustainability was taken into consideration”, says Malcolm Reading, Competition organizer.

      The competition is financed by the Boris and Inara Teterv Foundation and the ABLV Charitable Foundation, who are working closely with the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Latvia.


      An exhibition of the seven competition designs will open before the winner is announced in end May.

      The practices participating in the competition is Henning Larsen Architects, Adjaye Associates, Sauerbruch Hutton, Caruso St John Architects, Neutelings Riedijk Architects, wHY and Architects Lahdelma & Mahlamäki.